When I leave this town

When I leave this town, nobody will notice. There will be no ties to sever. There will be no trace of me left. You will not miss me. Just as you didn’t notice I was here, you will not notice I have gone. You will call at my house one autumn afternoon and a stranger will answer. You will start to doubt if I were ever there at all. Did I even exist? You will realise we haven’t spoken in months. When you find me, I will have changed. I won’t remember you. I will be happy. I will have a new life, a new town, people who love me.

Leave a Reply

