Your Perfect Replica

Whenever I think of you, when your name falls on my lips, I stop in wonderment. I am in love with so many qualities I see in you, qualities that you objectively do not have. They say we have one true love. I thought it was you. Really, it is your perfect replica. When my heart expands to the universe, searching for the heart that beats back, I hear you. You are a decoy. You don’t know you’re a decoy. Somewhere out there is a person with your name, your voice, your face, your hair. There is someone who is the perfect version of you. They don’t have your flaws, your distantness, your self-centredness, your abruptness. That person is my true love. I can’t stop loving you anyway.

Leave a Reply

