Salt

You are a being beyond age and time. We cling together, afraid. I will draw a salt circle around us and it will keep out the demons, but it cannot keep out the evil within you.  I will hold you together through your inner turmoil as long as it takes, until my bones protrude through my thinning skin, until my eyes rot away and the decaying jelly rolls down my putrid cheeks.  I know that many others will come to love you as I do, and that they will stay in this salt circle and protect you from yourself.

One response to “Salt

Leave a Reply

