Ode to an iPod

Lying like a foetus in the womb, an umbilical cord to my ears. The sweet life source. Rhythm coursing through my veins. Words nourishing, sometimes damaging. I am sustained by the music. Eyes closed, safe, in a personal bubble, I could return all the way back to a primal status, long before the touch of the world forced me to humanity. Everything I hope and fear is acted out in a melody, and I passively observe and let it live for me. I become a conduit. The feelings and emotions pass through me, grounded safely by my device. I mouth the words that I couldn’t possibly say, and my body twitches. For a brief time, I feel as though somebody understands. I’m in love.

The track changes and the spell ends.

Leave a Reply

